How to Make a Boxed Cake Mix taste like a Bakery Cake

Standard

I love cake.  And not like a Ross and Rachel, on again, off again “we were on a
break” type of love… but a full out Rhianna and Chris Brown type of
relationship, where no matter how much I get pushed down and knocked out, I will
still take that damn cake back and rock it like nobody’s business.  Go ahead and
judge.

However, the fact that I would eat cake everyday is not
reason enough to actually do it…so I have to bide my time until one of my boys
goes to a birthday party and I just “happen” to want to stick around, or we have
a kind soul that drops one by the office.  Or if its the weekend.  Cause,
really, you can do anything on the weekend…right?  I mean everyone knows that
weekend food doesn’t count.

Since this is the case, I decided to make
me my family a cake on Sunday.  And I know you have seen the
pin that claims you can make a cake box mix taste like one from a bakery.  No?
Well this is it…

Pinned Image
Basically it is taking a box mix and switching out the added stuff for items that have a higher fat content in them.
So instead of water, use milk. Instead of oil, use butter and double the amount. Use an extra egg…or two.
Here are my ingredients:

So I decided to just go with a stick of butter…if I doubled the oil the recipe on the box calls for I think it would have been about a stick and a half, but I figured that one would be plenty.  And I decided to use an extra TWO eggs…seeing as how we have chickens laying about 6 a day…why not??
Melt the butter…

Dump in cake mix, milk and eggs…

Mix everything well…I just used the old school whisk, even though I love my Kitchenaide mixer…I do not have counter space to keep it out, so it is up in a top pantry shelf and that bitch is heavy!  I thought I was going to die last time I got it down…why is it so heavy?  Or am I just that much of a wuss…

Right away I could tell there was something different about this batter…more fluffy and airy…
Divide the batter into two cake pans…

Yes…these may or may not be pie pans…but what is the difference REALLY?
Cook cake according to package directions…I think I did about 30 minutes…but check on them a few times as it seems like they cook faster…must be all those eggs.

Let cool and then frost!  I also made some homemade dark chocolate frosting…here is the recipe:
1/2 cup softened butter 1/4 cup Hershey’s dark cocoa powder 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar 1 tsp. vanilla 2-4 tablespoons milk Whip butter and cocoa together until smooth in large bowl. Stir in vanilla and powdered sugar. Slowly stream in milk until frosting reaches desired consistency. Scrape sides and whip again until light, fluffy and smooth, 1-2 minutes. Frosts 1-9 or 8 inch round layered cake or 24 cupcakes.
And here she is….

Soooo…whats the verdict you ask???  Does it really taste like it came from a bakery?  And not some supermarket bakery…but those cute little shops in trendy downtown areas that have sassy little names like “Cake Crumbs” or “Happy Cakes”.  Let me put it this way…I would let this cake give me a black eye, call the police and have a restraining order put on it, but then profess my undying love to it 3 hour later when I got a hankering for another slice because it is so damn good.  Just very moist and flavorful…
I suggest you try this next time, because it’s easy peasy japanesy….
And if ya got any other bakery knockoffs…let me know…I am not in an exclusive relationship with cake after all….

Leave a Reply

